Board of Directors of City Trusts, Philadelphia

The Board of Directors of City Trusts is appointed by and accountable for its actions to the Judges of the Courts of Common Pleas of Philadelphia. Membership consists of 12 citizens of Philadelphia, the Mayor and the President of City Council, who serve Ex-Officio. They serve without compensation. The Board was first created in 1869. Mr. William Welsh served as the first President of the Board. In addition to overseeing the administration of The Estate of Stephen Girard, Girard College and Wills Eye Health System, the Board of Directors of City Trusts is charged with the administration of approximately 116 other trusts left to the City of Philadelphia for charitable purposes. These are referred to as the “Sundry Trusts,” each maintained separately and administered according to the terms of the benefactor.

The John Scott Award Advisory Committee


Bernard W. Smalley, Esquire

The President of The Board of Directors of City Trusts

Committee Chairperson


Marsha I. Lester

Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry,University of Pennsylvania

Committee Secretary


Magid Abou-Gharbia

Laura H. Carnell Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, Temple University


Clyde F. Barker

Donald Guthrie Professor of Surgery, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania


Eduardo D. Glandt

Professor Emeritus Chemical and Bimolecular Engineering, University of Pennsylvania


Hai-Lung Dai

Laura H. Carnell Professor of Chemistry, Temple University


Virginia Man-Yee Lee

The John H. Ware 3rd Endowed Professor in Alzheimer's Research, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine


Amos B. Smith, III

Rhodes-Thompson Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Pennsylvania


George J. Pappas

UPS Foundation Professor and Chair of the Department of Electrical and System Engineering, University of Pennsylvania

Former Committee Members

Robin M. Hochstrasser Eugene Garfield Mortimer M. Labes
Alfred K. Mann Arye Rosen Anna Marie Skalka
Harvey Rubin Katherine W. McCain Elizabeth F. McCormack
John M. Daly